Dublinia is a heritage centre in the heart of Dublin City. Located at the crossroads of St Michael’s Hill, Patrick St, and High Street, Dublinia is fast becoming one of the top attractions to see in Dublin city with almost 125, 000 visitors a year. There are three exciting and interactive exhibitions to be seen at Dublinia.

The first is ‘Viking Dublin’ which takes the visitor back to life in the city in Viking times. Here you will see for yourself what life was like on board a Viking warship. You will visit a Viking house, stroll down a Viking street and even try on Viking clothes!

The second exhibition is ‘Medieval Dublin’, where you learn of the warfare, crime and punishment, death and disease and even medical remedies of 700 years ago. See the city as it would have looked then in a display featuring a busy medieval market, a rich merchant’s house and a noisy medieval street.

The third and final exhibition is the ‘History hunters’, in this exhibition you will see genuine Viking and Medieval artefacts including those of a medieval skeleton, found in Dublin. The exhibition even includes an excavation site and a lab for you to discover more and test your own newfound archaeology skills.

A visit to Dublinia is a must see to learn all about Dublin’s long and colourful history and is a fun day out for visitors of all ages.

Contact Details:

Address: St Michael’s Hill, Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland

Tel: +353 (0)1 6794611

Getting There:

Hop off the CityScape Tour at: Stop 25 Christ Church Place (see Route Map)

Richmond Barracks

Richmond Barracks

The fallout of the Easter Rising didn’t all happen at Kilmainham Gaol. In the nearby neighbourhood of Inchicore, over 3,000 rebels—men and women—were held at Richmond Barracks, a British military base being used at the time as a training centre for Irish-born soldiers shipping off to fight in World War I.

In the crowded barracks, the Rising leaders—including the 14 later executed at Kilmainham—were separated from rank-and-file rebels, court-martialed, and sentenced on the spot.

Then, from Richmond Barracks, they were marched through the streets to Kilmainham Gaol, where crowds of angry locals jeered and spit at them—the Rising wasn’t initially popular, as more civilians were killed in the fighting than Irish rebels and British soldiers combined.

The barracks sat long unused and crumbling until community interest and funding came through during the 1916 Centenary celebrations.

In May 2016, it opened to the public as a museum remembering its days as a British base of operations, an impromptu processing centre for the men and women of the Rising, its handover from the British to the Irish armies after independence, and its final chapter as government tenement housing and a Christian Brothers school.

The tour will include the 1916 exhibit in the gymnasium, where those arrested after the Rising were processed and sentenced; a re-creation of one of the classrooms from its time as a school (with a fine collection of original furniture found in storerooms and donated by families); and an example of the living quarters for the soldiers—and later, the families—who called the barracks home.

Those who go for the guided tour (recommended) rather than the self-guided tour will take a guided walk through Goldenbridge Cemetery nearby.

This is one of Dublin’s oldest accessible-to-all cemeteries; built independently of a church (non denominational), it was a practical solution to the sticky issue of burying Catholics in Protestant-controlled Ireland. Thanks to an extensive renovation alongside Richmond Barracks, many vandalized and weatherworn markers have been restored.

If time and budget allow, a tour of Richmond Barracks would pair well with a visit to Kilmainham Gaol; you could follow in the footsteps of the executed Rising leaders from the Barracks to the old Garrison Church—still a functioning Catholic church—to Kilmainham Gaol and then across the river to their burial site in Arbour Hill Cemetery. Look for more developments in future updates of this book and on their website (Guided tour €8.00 adult; opening June 2021; www.richmondbarracks.ie.).

Saint Patrick’s Cathedral

Saint Patrick’s Cathedral

Saint Patrick’s Cathedral is the largest Cathedral in Ireland and is the National Cathedral for the Church of Ireland. One of Ireland’s biggest and most popular visitor attractions and one of our top things to do in Dublin, Saint Patrick’s Cathedral was first built by the Anglo-Norman Bishop, John Comyn in 1192. The Cathedral is named after the patron saint of Ireland, Saint Patrick, and is reportedly built on sacred ground where Saint Patrick himself baptised Irish heathens.

Saint Patrick’s Cathedral has been at the heart of Dublin and Ireland’s cultural history for over 800 years. During the stay of Oliver Cromwell in Dublin in 1659, the Commonwealth’s Lord Protector stabled his horses in the nave of the cathedral to show his disdain for the Anglican religion. The Cathedral is also the resting place for one of the world’s most famous literary giants, Jonathan Swift, author of Gulliver’s Travels, who was the Dean of the Cathedral from 1713 to 1745 and whose grave can still be seen alongside his long-time companion Esther Johnson.

Today the Cathedral is open to all people as an architectural and historical site, but principally as a place of worship. A small charge is made for those visiting for sightseeing and these contributions directly support the future of this holy and historic building.

Contact Details:

Address: St. Patrick’s Close, Dublin 8.

Tel: (01) 4539472

Getting There:

Hop off the CityScape Tour at: Stop 26 St Patrick’s Close (see Route Map)


Adult: €6.00

Concession: €5.00

Child: €3.00

Family: €15.00

Group rates available for groups of 10 or more people.

Opening hours:

March to October:

Mon-Fri: 09.30-17.00 | Sat: 09.00-18.00 | Sun: 09.00-10.30, 12.30-14.30 & 16.30-18.00

November to February:

Mon-Fri: 09.30-17.00 | Sat: 09.00-17.00 | Sun: 09.00-10.30 & 12.30-14.30

St. Stephens Green

St. Stephen’s Green

St. Stephen’s Green is Ireland’s best known Victorian public park and Europe’s biggest square, and is open to the public. One of the most popular sights to see in Dublin, summer days in the park can be spent idling away on the nine elegantly landscaped hectares of St Stephen’s Green.

The buildings around the square date mainly from the mid-18th century, when the green was landscaped and became the centrepiece of Georgian Dublin. The northern side was known as the Beaux Walk and it’s still one of Dublin’s most esteemed stretches, home to Dublin’s original society hotel, the Shelbourne. Also nearby is the small Huguenot Cemetery established in 1693 by French Protestant refugees – well worth a visit.

The park also has a place in Irish history. During the Easter Rising of 1916, a group of insurgents made up mainly of members of the Irish Citizen Army, under the command of Commandant Michael Mallin and his second-in-command Constance Markievicz, established a position in St Stephen’s Green. They insurgents numbered between 200 and 250. They dug defensive positions into the park but found that they had to retreat to the Royal College of Surgeons after the British took up positions on top of the Shelbourne Hotel. Overlooking the park, the British army fired down into the trenches and pushed back the rebels from the park.

Fun Fact

There was a ceasefire during the battle at the park in order to allow the park’s grounds man to feed the local ducks.

Contact Details:

Address: Stephen’s Green, Dublin 2

Getting There:

Hop off the CityScape Tour at: Stop 21 St. Stephen’s Green North (see Route Map)

Teelings Whiskey Distillery

Teelings Whiskey Distillery

Dublin’s newest alcohol-themed attraction is putting the historical, industrial Liberties neighbourhood back on the tourist map.

Unlike the Guinness and Jameson properties, the Teeling Whiskey Distillery is a working distillery; you will see, smell, and taste the whiskey-making process in its natural habitat and are likely to see the distillers hard at work with the shiny, state-of-the-art equipment.

Teeling's make small batches of craft whiskey, so the operation is compact—confined to one big mashing, fermenting, and distilling floor. The only step in the whiskey process not seen on site is barrel maturation, but the knowledgeable guides thoroughly explain the barrel-ageing process. 

What sets this hour-long tour and tasting apart from many other tours is the opportunity to engage with the whiskey at each step in the process: smelling and tasting both un-malted and malted grain, the fermented wash before distillation, young whiskey at various points in the barrel-ageing process, and, of course, a sampling of the finished product at the end.

This continuous smelling and tasting allow the whiskey novice —like me—to follow the essence of the grain from seed to spirit and prepares the visitor well for the tasting at the end. 

Tours of Teelings

With the budget traveller (and the whiskey newbie) in mind, Teeling offers different tasting packages, all of which come with the same distillery tour:

  • The €14.00 ticket includes one whiskey sample and one cocktail.
  • The €20.00 package consists of a 20 mL sample of Teeling’s three introductory whiskies and is the best value, in my opinion.
  • The €30.00 offering for experienced whiskey fans includes a tasting of three fine single malts, the highlight of which is a luxurious 21-year-old.

Its proximity to City Centre, its selection of package prices, and its informative tour of a working facility make the Teeling tour one of my new favourites in Dublin

Getting to Teelings 

Located in the heart of Dublin city centre in the historic Liberties, the Teeling Whiskey Distillery is the the only operational distillery in Dublin, and the first new distillery to open its doors in over 125 years.

The Liberties area is a regular spider web of narrow lanes and side streets. It’s a charming neighbourhood but challenging to navigate. Before leaving City Centre:

  1. Make sure you have a detailed print or mobile device map in hand.
  2. For a scenic and exciting walk to Teeling from City Centre, head a few blocks west from Christ Church, go south on Francis Street to its end and turn right on Dean Street.
  3. Take the first left on St. Luke’s Avenue; then the first left again down Brabazon Street to Newmarket.
  4. Again, check it on your map before jumping in, or take the Green Bus hop on hop off tour to the new stop right at the door (Daily 9:30– 17:00, tours can be booked online or at the door; www.teelingwhiskey.com).
  5. For more about Irish Whiskey, see Dublin in Detail: Irish Whiskey Tourism. 

After your tour, enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from their mixologist at The Bang Bang Bar with views overlooking Dublin city, or enjoy locally sourced and produced food, drinks and treats in The Phoenix Café.

Contact Details:

Address: Teeling Whiskey Distillery, 13-17 Newmarket, Dublin 8

Tel: +353 1 5310888

Web: teelingdistillery.com.com

Booking ahead is advised.

Getting There:

Hop off the CityScape Tour at: Stop 27 Newmarket (see Route Map)

Opening Hours

The Teeling Whiskey Distillery is open 7 days a week all year round, apart from 24th, 25th and 26th December and Good Friday.

Tours: 10am – 7pm Mon-Sun

Last tour Mon-Fri: 5.20pm

Last tour Sat-Sun: 5.30pm

Phoenix Café: 8am – 5pm

Gift Shop: 10.30am- 7pm

Temple Bar

Temple Bar

Dublin’s Cultural and Creative corner, Temple Bar is famous for its eclectic mix of lively nightlife, clubs, bars, galleries and concert venues, the area has become a hugely popular attraction full of things to do in Dublin for tourists and locals alike. The city centre location just off Dame Street running parallel with the South Quays is the home to a number of Irish cultural institutions, including the Irish Film Institute, the Project Arts Centre, the Gaiety School of Acting as well as the Central Bank of Ireland and Irish Stock Exchange. Some of Dublin’s best bars, restaurants and shops line the cobblestone streets and squares of an area bursting with atmosphere and culture.

The cultural hub as we know it today was largely built up in the 1800s, but by the 1980s had fallen into such misuse and decay that at one point, the state owned transport company, Córas Iompair Éireann (CIE), proposed to buy up the property in the Temple Bar area and build a terminus in its place. While the planning for the proposed terminus was taking place, the buildings were let out on low rents which attracted a number of young artists, small shops and galleries to the area. The locale soon developed an “alternative” identity and a successful lobby by local residents persuaded CIE to drop their plans. The government then proceeded to allocate additional funding towards a new conservation and renewal scheme which has seen Temple Bar’s extraordinary redevelopment as Dublin’s cultural quarter.

Fun Fact

One of the oldest parts of Dublin city, the history of Temple Bar extends as far back as the Vikings in Ireland, with the street pattern of the area based on the medieval street plans of the Old City.


The 10th annual Temple Bar Trad Fest will take place from January 28th to February 1st 2015. Since its establishment in 1995, the TradFest showcases a variety of traditional and folk music and this year’s line-up featuring Donovan, Hothouse Flowers and Mick Flannery (among others) promises to be one of the best yet.

Contact Details:

Address: Temple Bar, Dublin 2 (North of Dame Street)

Getting There:

Hop off the CityScape Tour at: Stop 18-19 College Green (see Route Map)

The Ha’penny Bridge

The Ha’penny Bridge

The Ha’penny Bridge, officially named the Liffey Bridge, is a pedestrian bridge built in 1816 over the River Liffey. Before the bridge was built, there were several ferries, run by a William Walsh that would transport people from one side of the Liffey to the other so they did not have to compete with the horses, carriages and carts on the main bridges. The ferries were in bad condition though and Walsh was informed he either had to fix them or build a bridge.

Picking the logical choice, Walsh decided to build the bridge and was allowed extract a ha’penny toll from anyone crossing it for the next hundred years, thus giving the bridge its famous name. The bridge would remain to be the only pedestrian bridge spanning the Liffey all the way up to the construction of the Millennium Bridge in 1999. The bridge is an sight you almost certainly see as the walkway reportedly has almost 30,000 people walk across it every day and the bridge will almost bring you directly into or out of Temple Bar.

Fun Fact

In 2013, due to health and safety concerns, Dublin City Council had to remove over 300kg worth of padlocks on the bridge.

Getting There:

Hop off the CityScape Tour at: Stop 23 College Green (see Route Map)

The Royal Dublin Society

The Royal Dublin Society

One of the many entertaining things to do in Dublin is to visit the RDS on Merrion Road. The RDS is a philanthropic society that is over 280 years old. The society was established in 1731 to enhance the cultural and economic development of Ireland. The aims of the RDS focuses on encouraging developments in arts, agriculture, science and industry and it uses its venue and its members subscriptions to fund its activities.

Following these goals, the RDS developed the RDS Arena, which is a multi-purpose sports stadium. The Arena was originally developed to host equestrian events but soon became a multi-purpose stadium that now hosts a variety of sports and events. One of the most famous events the RDS hosts is the Dublin Horse Show which is held here every August. This Horse Show is one of the highlights of the summer in Dublin and has been held annually since 1864 except during the World War years. The show has come a long way since 1864 when ass and mule classes were included in the competition – today it has one of the largest prize pools for International Show Jumping in the world.

In addition to the Horse Shows, the RDS Arena is currently the official home of the Leinster Rugby team. The stadium currently has a capacity for 18,500 but there are plans in place to increase this to almost 25,000. The sports grounds have an incredible atmosphere and attending a Horse show or Rugby match at the RDS is an experience not to be missed while in Dublin.

Contact Details:

Address: Royal Dublin Society, Angelsea Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4

Tel: +353 (0)1 668 0866

Getting There:

Hop off the CityScape Tour at: Stop 15 Merrion Road (see Route Map)

Royal Families Of Ireland


Nothing was of greater importance to the clans of Ireland than the records of their ancestry. 

Until the final destruction of the clan system itself, every tribe jealously preserved the tradition of its descent from some famous ancestor. In early times these records were of vital importance: they were the title deeds of the clan to the territory it occupied; they formed the bond which united various clans into one great tribe; they justified the tributes that the different Kings imposed upon their subordinate clans. 

The genealogies of the clans were,’ therefore, carefully recorded, especially in the cases of those ” riding clans ” who imposed tribute upon their neighbours and who afterwards supplied the Kings who ruled over the grand divisions of the island.

Ireland Family Map

Above: Irish Family Map

The Three Dynasties

We have seen that those ” ruling clans ” claimed to be descended from the early leaders of the ” Milesians ”. This is a pure fable due to a boastful tribal spirit which, not content with an actual historical origin, traced back an ancestry through a line of unknown Kings to Heremon, Heber, Ir, or Ith—and even beyond them to Noah! 

These spurious ancestors may be rejected. But, having discarded them, we still find the remaining cardinal facts in Irish History the great groups of families. We also find that of three of these groups, each has a common ancestor in three famous rival Kings. 

Indeed, during historical times, the Kings and “ruling clans” of all the independent Kingdoms of Ireland (except Ulaidh) descended from one of three real personages— Cahit * Tara, Oirghialla, Aileach and Connacht. Mdr, Conn, and Mogh Nuath—who flourished about the middle of the 2nd century. In them, we find the origin of the chief dynasties of Ireland and of the families who, in later years, professed to trace their ancestry back to mythical times.

Leinster Dynasty; Cahir Mor

Soon after the reign of Tuathal, the rival Leinster family of (Jgaine found themselves in conflict with new enemies on their west. These were some southern tribes who crossed the Barrow and overran the plains on the east of that river. 

The Leinstermen, with the aid of ” Irian ” and other auxiliaries, defeated the invaders. A large territory west of the Barrow was granted to their Northern allies, who occupied it as a military outpost and became known as the ” Seven Tribes of Laoighis (Leix).” Thus secured in the South, they renewed the contest with the Kings of Tara in their north. 

Their King, Cahir M6r, was finally defeated and slain by Conn, the grandson of Tuathal. Still, he had firmly established the dynasty of Laighin, and his posterity reigned as the independent King of that territory. From Cahir, M6r have descended all the ” ruling clans ” of Leinster, from whom the Kings were chosen and who were free of tribute. All the other families of the Leinster branch of ” Heremonians ” trace their descent through him.

Tara Dynasty: Conn ” of the Hundred Battles.”

No sooner had Conn defeated his Leinster rival than the King of Tara found himself forced to defend Meath against the same power which had previously attacked Leinster. Having been foiled in one direction, the Southern tribes now moved in another and advanced along the south bank of the Shannon between that river and the Slieve Bloom Mountains. 

Here under their King Mogh Nuath (Nuadhat), they came into conflict with the grandson and successor of Tuathal. The two antagonists at first agreed to divide the whole island between them, ” Leath Chuinn”, the northern half, going to Conn, and ” Leath Mhogha,” the southern half, to his rival. But within twelve months, Conn vanquished and slew his enemy in the battle of Magh Leana (near Tullamore). 

The two-fold division quickly ended as a political factor. Still, the names remain in everyday use in Irish speech to the present day. His many victories won for Conn the title of ” Ce^-o C&tAt ” or ” of the Hundred Battles,”* but he fell at length fighting against Ulaidh. From Conn were derived the Kings and ” free clans ” of Meath and the Kingdoms to the north, northwest, and west, which were afterwards founded by his successors. 

In other words, the second and more important branch of “Heremonians ” is descended from this opponent of Cahir Mr and Mogh North. The posterity of Conn—the famous ” Siol Chuinn “-form a group of kingly families that figure prominently throughout Irish History.

Munster Dynasty: Mogh Nuadhat

The third great dynasty, destined in future years to contest supremacy with the preceding two, was founded in Munster during the same period. Mogh Nuath (also called Eoghan Mdr), the rival of Conn, first laid the foundations of this Kingdom. 

With the help of some forces from Leinster, he succeeded, not without difficulty, in bringing the tribes of the South under his control. It was his son Oilioll Olim, however, who completed the conquest and became the first undisputed King of Munster. 

At first, from the stronghold, he established at Bruree and afterwards, from the more famous Rock of Cashel, the descendants of Oilioll Olim ruled over the tribes of the South. From his two sons—Cormac Cas and Eoghan (Owen), sprang the two great families from which alone were chosen the Kings of Munster—the Dal Chais or Dalcassians of Thomond or North Munster, and the Eoghanachta or Eugenians of South Munster or Desmond.

Ulster Dynasty: Clanna Rury.

The ancestry of the ” Irian ” or ” Red Branch ” Kings—the Clanna Rury—who, from their ancient seat in Samhain Macha, ruled over the tribes of Ulaidh, is more remote and less authentic than that of the preceding three dynasties. 

They claimed descent from Connal Cearnach, one of the great heroes of the war with Maeve. To Fergus, the Red Branch chief who seceded from Connor Mac Nessa and allied himself with Queen Maeve, many other ” Irian” tribes, which are found scattered as subordinate clans throughout the other kingdoms, trace their origin. 

This northern dynasty, whose legends in many other ways suggest a source different from that of the other independent tribes, is the only one whose ancestry goes back to a period earlier than the second century.

The Italians

A small group of families, most of whom were settled in a limited district in the southwest called Corkalee, represent the alleged descendants of the unlucky Lih. They, too, all unite in a single personage called Lughaidh (Lewy) Mac Con, who is said to have led an unsuccessful revolt of the non-Heberian tribes of Munster against Oiholl Olim, and also to have defeated Art, the son of Conn of Meath, in the battle of Magh Macruimhe near Athenry. However, the” Italian ” families were of slight historical importance, as they were utterly dominated by the posterity of Oilioll Olim.

Historical Clues

Hence we find in the second century the origin of the three great dynasties, which supplied the independent rulers of all parts of Ireland (except Ulaidh) for hundreds of years, and which con­tested with each other the supremacy of the country. 

Here, too, we have the clues to the alliances and rivalries that took place up to the coming of the Normans and the historical reasons for the conflicting claims that prohibited unity before and after that event.

* More correctly,” the Hundred Fighter.”

9 Stunning Historical Houses to Visit in Dublin

towering townhouses, treacherous tenements and Imposing mansions

If Dublin’s city’s historic structures could speak, they would tell a story of the changes in its fortunes and county.

Fortunately, many of the capital’s most important and interesting buildings are open to the public. They invite visitors to explore them through free walking tours and exhibits.

Phoenix Park is where you’ll find two of the most impressive buildings: Áras a tUachtarán (the President’s official residence) and Farmleigh House (an elegant Georgian and Victorian confections).

For literary fans, a visit to the childhood home of Oscar Wildes is an enjoyable way to spend some time; for historians, visiting the former residence of a wealthy gentleman who lived during the 18th and 19th centuries is fun.

Áras an Uachtaráin

Aras na nUachtarán is the official residence of An Taoiseach (Prime Minister). It was built in 1751 and is located in Phoenix Park in County Meath. Free guided visits take place every Saturday at 11am.

The “Irish Whitehouse”, or Áras an Iarainn, was designed initially by park rangers and amateur architects Nathaniel Clements. It consisted of 95 rooms and was acquired in 1938 by the viceroys who ruled Britain in Ireland. Since then, it has been the official residence of the President of Ireland. Numerous world leaders have stayed here.

The formal garden was designed in 1840. It contains many Victorian elements, including ceremonial trees, a woodland, a parkland, paths, ornamental lakes, and a walled garden that provide fruit, veg­etables, and flowers for the áras (the official residence of the President). The walled garden, managed sustainably and having organic status, is used to grow fruit, veggies, and flowers for the President’s private use.

Visitors can come on Saturdays to see the house where our head of state lives. They open every Saturday. You’ll get a ticket if they have any free slots left. Their office is just across the road. Bring your photo ID.

Location: Castleknock (part of Phoenix Park), Dublin 8, Co. Dublin, D08 E1W3, Ireland

Website: https://heritageireland.ie/visit/places-to-visit/aras-an-uachtarain/

Cost: Free

Opening hours:

Visit Duration

We recommend planning to spend 1 to 1 hour 30 minutes here.

Ardgillan Castle and Gardens.

Ardgillan castle and garden is a hidden gem in beautiful parklands overlooking the Irish sea. It offers visitors stunning views of the Mourne mountains and Lambay island.

Ardgillan Castles and Demesnes is a beautiful place in County Dublin, Ireland. It is one of the best places to visit if you love nature and history. The property consists of 194 acres of parkland, woodland and gardens. 

The main building is an impressive 18th-century stone mansion surrounded by a moat. The grounds also include several outbuildings, including a stable block, stables, coach houses, a barn, a garage, a dovecote, a greenhouse, a walled garden, a folly, a summerhouse and a water tower.

Originally called Prospect House, the central block was built by Robert Taylor around 1738, with the western and eastern wings added later. Ardgillan castle also has a permanent exhibit of 17th-century Down survey maps of Ireland created by Thomas Taylor, Robert’s grandfather.

The original garden is an attractive example of what can be achieved with imagination and creativity. In addition to the castle, the estate also includes a Walled Garden, a Rose Garden, and an extensive collection of rare plants. The Walled Garden contains several unusual architectural elements, including an elaborate Alcove Wall.

Today the demesnes are beautiful visitor attractions with a range of facilities, from castles and gardens to theatres and cafés, as well as a fairy trail for kids and an adventure park for adults.

Location: Ardgillan Demesne, Balbriggan, Co. Dublin, K32 WX87, Ireland

Website: https://ardgillancastle.ie/

Opening hours: Open 7 days, 9am to 5pm

We recommend planning to spend up to 2 hours here

Casino Marino

The casino is a miniaturised architectural masterpiece. The casino, meaning “small house,” was commissioned by Lord Charleton in the mid-18th cen­tury. It is a Palladio neoclassical garden shoppe only 5 kilometres north of Dublin city centre.

Casino Marino is a fantastic building in terms of structural and historical value. Sir William Chambers designed the casino as a pleasure house for Lord Charlemont, near his home in what was then the countryside. It is a gem among 18th-Century neoclassical architectural styles. In fact, it’s one of the finest casinos in Europe.

The building looks like a temple, with exquisite carvings and sculptures on its four sides. Within, the visitor marvels at the inventive use of space and architectural techniques defying reason.

Location: Cherrymount Cres, Marino, Dublin 3, Ireland

Website: https://heritageireland.ie/places-to-visit/casino-marino/

Farmleigh House

Farmleigh House in Dublin, Ireland, is known for its Georgian-Victorian architectural style, art galleries, and beautiful gardens. It was once owned by the Guinness family, who built the mansion in 1832. Today, the house is open to the public during non-visiting hours and hosts many cultural events and outdoor festivals.

Farmleigh is located in the northwest corner of Phoenix Park and is adjacent to the Chapelizod and Castleknock areas of Dublin City. It covers an area of 78.5 hectares and includes many beautiful structures, including the main building and sunken and walled gardens. There is also a famous clock and a lake.

Farmleigh House offers premier accommodations and facilities for official visits by essential visitors from across the globe. It has been designated an official meeting place for important national and international events. Tours of the building are available to the public.

The Farmleigh Gallery is an extension of the original house, designed to complement the existing architecture and create a new space for contemporary art. The gallery provides a venue for artists to exhibit their work and hosts various community and cultural activities throughout the year. The gallery stages temporary exhibitions, crafts fairs, and outdoor cinema screenings during the summer. In addition, the gallery offers a range of educational workshops and courses.

You’ll enjoy a light fare of Irish and Italian cuisine at the Boathouse restaurant beside the ornamental lake.

The ground level of the building is entirely accessible for people who use wheelchairs. It is advisable to reserve tours at least one month in advance.

You can join one of their knowledgeable guides at any time during the year for a guided tour of Farmleigh House.

Location: Farmleigh, Castleknock, Co Dublin, Republic of Ireland

Website: https://farmleigh.ie//

Opening hours: Open 7 Days, 10am to 5pm

We recommend planning to spend 1 to 2 hours here.

14 Henrietta Street

14 Henrietta Street in Dublin is a must-visit for anyone interested in the city’s history. It offers a unique insight into Dublin’s past through its architecture and stories told by the building itself.

Named for the European Museum of the year 2020, 14 Henrietta St. brings together over 300 yrs. of history into one address. Guided tours take visitors through the homes’ grand Georgian origins to their 10ement dwellings.

Built in 1720s, Henrietta Street was once home to an affluent Dublin family who had over 800 residents living there. By 1911, over 100 were living alone at 14 Henrietta Street.

At the heart of every visit to Dublin lies the story of the people who once inhabited the city. It’s our chance to learn about these individuals and share their memories. And it’s an opportunity for visitors to step into the shoes of others who once walked its streets.

14 Henrietta Street is only accessible by guided tour. Pre-booking is advised.

Location: 14 Henrietta St, Dublin 1, D01 HH34, Ireland

Website: https://14henriettastreet.ie/

The James Joyce Centre

Located in Dublin City, Ireland, the James Joyce Centre aims to foster an understanding of Joyce through exhibitions, educational programs, and public events. The centre also hosts the annual Bloomsday celebrations on June 16th.

Located in the heart of Dublin city centre, the James Joyce Centre offers visitors an immersive experience into the world of one of Ireland’s most famous writers, James Joyce. With a permanent interactive exhibit on his novel Ulysses, the James Joyce Centre introduces the author and his writing.

The original door from number seven Eccles street, the home of Leobald Bloom in Ulysses, is on display at the centre. It is one of many exciting things on offer there. There are free guided audio walks through Dublin city, regular talks, events and education courses.

The James Joyce Centre organises the annual Bloomsday festival every June 16th. You can check out its website for more info.

The centre is open on weekdays from 9am to 5pm (except for public holidays) and on Saturdays from 10am to 2pm. It is not open on Sundays, bank holidays or during winter months (October to March). Wheelchairs are available on the ground floor but cannot be used upstairs.

Location: 35 N Great George’s St, Rotunda, Dublin, D01 WK44, Ireland

Website: https://jamesjoyce.ie/

Opening hours: Open Mon to Sat 10:30am to 3:30pm

Leinster House

The house where the Irish parliament meets is located at College Green in Dublin City Centre. Tours of the building are free for the public.

Since 1922, Leinster House in Dublin has been the seat of government of the Irish Free State. It was formerly known as the Parliament Buildings until 1937, when it became the official residence of the President of Ireland.

The centrepiece of Leinster Houses was originally the ducal palace of the Dukes. First built in 1745–1848 by the Earls of Kildare. No other mansions match Kildares for its sheer size or prestige. When the earl became the first Duke of Leinster in 1766, his Dublin residence was named Leinster house. Its first and second floors were used as floor models for the white house exterior. Many additions have been added over the years.

Location: Office of the Houses of the Oireachtas, Kildare Street, Dublin City, Co Dublin, Republic of Ireland

Website: http://www.oireachtas.ie/parliament/visitsevents/

Cost: Free Public tours are available on days when the Dáil and Seanad are not sitting.

Tours begin at 10.30am, 11.30am, 2.30pm and 3.30pm.

The Mansion House

The Mansion House has served as the official residence of the Lord Mayor (or Lord Mayoress) of Dublin for nearly three centuries. Located in the city centre, it is not usually open to the general public except during Culture Night in September and on special available days. A visit to the Live Animal Crib at the Mansion House is a popular Christmas custom.

The Mansion House has served as Ireland’s official seat of government since 1715, hosting the meetings of both houses of parliament (Dáil Éireann) and the British Parliament before independence. Since 1919, it has hosted the annual St Patrick’s Day Parade through O’Connell Street. 

In 1921, it became the temporary headquarters of the Provisional Government during the War of Independence and again in 1924, when Eamon de Valera was elected President of the Executive Council. During the Civil War, the building was used as an armoury by the anti-treaty forces. 

After the war, it was restored to its original function as the official seat of the state. Today, the Mansion House serves as the administrative heart of the city, housing the offices of the Lord Mayor, the City Corporation, the Department of Finance, the Central Bank of Ireland, the Revenue Commissioners, the Office of Public Works, the National Lottery Commission, the Department of Justice, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Agriculture, Food and Marine, the Department of Health, the Department of Social Protection, the Department of Education and Skills, the Department of Communications, Energy & Natural Resources, the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport, the Office of Public Prosecution Service of Northern Ireland, the Department of Defence, the Department of Justice and

The Mansion House is usually open to the general public during Culture Night and Open House events. To book a guided tour of the building, please get in touch with the office of the Lord Mayor

Location: Dawson St, Dublin 2, Ireland

Website: https://www.dublincity.ie/council/your-city-council/lord-mayor-dublin/mansion-house

Marsh’s Library

Located in Dublin City, Marsh’s Library is an exquisitely maintained structure. It is among the few libraries in Ireland still used for their original purpose. Since it was established in 1709, it has held 25,000 rare and exciting books and 300 manuscript collections.

Some famous readers include the Irish writer Jonathan Swift, Bram Stokers, and James Joyce. If you visit Dublin Castle, you can view some of these things.

Children are especially welcomed at the museum and love the miniature art hunts through the galleries. Check out its website for details on current exhibitions and its online resources and activities.

Location: St Patrick’s Close, Dublin 8, Ireland

Website: https://www.marshlibrary.ie/

Newbridge House and Farm

Newbridge House is a historic Georgian mansion just a 15-minute walk from Dublin Airport. It has been beautifully restored and offers visitors a chance to experience the splendour of Ireland’s past.

Newbridge House is a magnificent 18th Century Georgian Mansion located on 370 acres of stunning parkland, which includes a beautiful play area for kids, a café, and a wide variety of seasonal events. It’s an excellent place for families to visit!

It was built in 1747 for the Archbishop of Dublin, Charles CoBe. It has been open to the general public since 1986. Newbridge Estate is located in County Kildare, Ireland. It consists of 370 acres of gently undulated pastureland, woodland walk, wildflower meadow, and traditional Irish farming land. At its heart is a fine Georgian country manor, built in 1747 for the Archbishops of Dublin.

One of the finest Georgian houses in Ireland, the Red Drawing Room has been restored to its former glory. It was once the residence of the O’Donoghue clan, who lived here from 1770 until their departure in 1815. The museum contains some of the most important collections of Irish antiquities and curiosities. The ornately decorated plasterwork throughout the house is particularly noteworthy. An apartment is still maintained for members of the current generation of the O’Donoghue clan.

Newbridge Farm is a working farm where visitors can see various breeds of livestock, including pigs, sheep, horses and donkeys. There is also a small café serving hot drinks and snacks. Visitors can participate in activities such as milking cows, feeding lambs and riding horses.

Oscar Wides House

Visit the house where Oscar Wilde was born, grew up, and lived for most of his life. Listen to the fantastic stories of the Wildes’ lives.

If you’re ever in Dublin, visit the childhood home of Oscar Wilde. It was here that young Oscar took his very first few strides and where he spent the first ten years of school.

Oscar attended Trinity College Dublin when he was young. He grew up in an illustrious family, which included poets and artists. Their house was one of Dublin’s most cultured homes for twenty-one consecutive years.

If you want to know more, book your visit now. They’re a non-profit organisation, and all profits go towards restoring the building.

Location: American College, 1 Merrion Square W, Dublin, D02 NH98, Ireland

Website: https://oscarwildehouse.com/

Cost: Free

Opening hours: Open 7 days, 11am to 5pm

Visit Duration

We recommend spending 1.5 to 2 hours here.